Success, n.

Dictionary.com defines success with the following:

the favorable or prosperous termination of attempts orendeavors; the accomplishment of one’s goals.

Here, we find a rather malleable definition of success. Basically, success is relative and dependent upon your personal goals. I think that is true, however as a society we’ve formed a much narrower account of success. With fancy cars and shiny things to distract us from our mortality, we want money. With rent and food being necessities, we also need money. Clearly, I am a creative individual, and money is not a personal goal. It is a gateway to obtain experiences that are essential for a good writer. I need to be in order to write. 

This puts me in quite the pickle. Is successful writing directly tied to sales? Do I need to sell my stories for them to be impactful? Or is simply writing them enough? Ultimately, I’m still young enough for a touch of naivety to be seen as sweet and not completely pathetic. I would define success as fulfillment. I’m writing because I’m not sure there’s anything else I can do. It’s the only thing that makes sense when everything else blurs around the edges. If I can be fulfilled putting marks on a screen or on a page, and sharing those marks with people who are also enamored by life, I will have succeeded. 

– Rhi

Leave a Reply

